equine art

Something Worth Sharing

Wish I was an artist. Despite all the angst that probably goes with being one, who wouldn’t want to create something like this in the end?

cayuse

This is painting called “Cayuse” by Donna Bernstein, and captures what she describes on her web site as movement that is “bigger than what you see.”

And that’s the thing about horses – there’s so much big movement beyond what mere words can describe that they need art – I think – to describe them.

I can blather on for hundreds of pages in a book about what my horses look like, but one image like “Cayuse” captures what they are.

While Donna B’s work focuses on movement, take a look at Mike Becker’s “Contemplation Horse” that zeroes in on expression:

horse painting

Anyone who’s been around horses will recognize this look… I’m hungry, and unless you’re here to feed me, get out of my personal space.

That’s probably not what Mike had in mind, but that’s what I see. And that’s the thing about real art versus writing that I admire so much: it doesn’t dictate anything.

Anyway, I don’t know enough about art to wax poetically on about it. Just wanted to share these pictures.

 

7 thoughts on “Something Worth Sharing”

  1. I notice that from the beginning of art on the walls of caves, horses have been used as subjects, and down thru history and across different cultures, and in these two works, horses continue to inspire us. It’s no coincidence. Thanks, I like this sort of ‘less is more’ sort of art.

  2. That first piece reminds me of a gorgeous Chinese horse painting I bought at a little street fair here in SoCal. I was mesmerized by the motion and simplicity that captured the essence of a proud horse. I thought the artist must have had some deep message dripping with wisdom. Well. . . I put the painting on hold so I could walk around and shop more. When I came back, I got to meet the artist. He was about 24 and had hip glasses. I asked, “So what inspired you to create this?” He basically said he thought it would be cool to paint a horse. He even confessed it didn’t take him that long to make. He wasn’t flippant, but maybe bordering it. I got the impression he was a talented guy who just cranked out some “product” to make a little side cash. I was disappointed he wasn’t 80 years old and a horse lover .Nevertheless, I brought the painting home and it’s in my entryway. I love it, even though the story behind it isn’t that fantastic.

  3. Thank you for sharing these. Fully capture the essences. Brightened my morning! I loved Mestengo, your book, and it struck me that it too has this balance of depth and humor. I just subscribed to your newsletter. Wondering if you know of Carolyn Resnick, Linda Kohanov, Klaus Ferdinand Hempfling, and Joe Camp? Their books, teaching and ways of being with horses are all kind of ‘on the same page’ with each other; I think all based on wild horse behavior of bonding within the herd and natural ways… they all certainly know and have bonded in amazing ways with wild horses. Even those who have been much abused. You might already know of them but just in case… I really loved your book. You are a wonderful storyteller.

Leave a comment